ARC Review: Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

18692431

book review 1

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

Book Review

★★★★★ (5 stars)

book review 1

I have received an advance readers copy of this novel from Netgalley and Random House Children’s for an honest review.

How can you possibly protect a girl who is allergic to just anything?

Madeline Whittier is a girl who is allergic to literally everything. Her life is protected inside her house and everything she does, every minute, every hour, is monitored by her personal nurse, Carla. But what if something changes? What if someone named Oliver a.k.a. Olly came into the neighborhood and changed everything?

This is a unique story of a girl who is willing to risk anything for freedom, love and everything else.

Book Review

  • The concept of the story is very unique. A girl who is literally allergic to the world, trapped in her safe bubble, fell in love with someone normal. Unique, right? Often times, when we encounter sickness in books, it is cancer. The protagonist dies and everyone cries. End of story. But it is refreshing to read since it introduces us to a disease that is not cancer related and nobody dies. (smiles)

Continue reading