ARC Review: Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

18692431

book review 1

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

Book Review

★★★★★ (5 stars)

book review 1

I have received an advance readers copy of this novel from Netgalley and Random House Children’s for an honest review.

How can you possibly protect a girl who is allergic to just anything?

Madeline Whittier is a girl who is allergic to literally everything. Her life is protected inside her house and everything she does, every minute, every hour, is monitored by her personal nurse, Carla. But what if something changes? What if someone named Oliver a.k.a. Olly came into the neighborhood and changed everything?

This is a unique story of a girl who is willing to risk anything for freedom, love and everything else.

Book Review

  • The concept of the story is very unique. A girl who is literally allergic to the world, trapped in her safe bubble, fell in love with someone normal. Unique, right? Often times, when we encounter sickness in books, it is cancer. The protagonist dies and everyone cries. End of story. But it is refreshing to read since it introduces us to a disease that is not cancer related and nobody dies. (smiles)

  • The writing style is superb. Well, another unique aspect of the story. It is written in the view-point of Madeline yet it still grasps the feelings or perspectives of every character without being biased or anything. Even if she narrates the story, she knows that the story doesn’t only revolves on her but also to the people around her.
  • The story is told with pictures, charts, notes and other things besides the typical narrative on paper. This part is the most interesting of all. There are emails, drawings and stuffs that would make the readers not just visualize these materials but also comprehend some of the theories, dictionary entries and spoiler reviews mentioned in the book.

Book Review

I have to admit, for me, this book is going to be phenomenal. It is impressive knowing that this is the author’s debut novel.

I don’t have any negative feedback for this book but there are some things that I really am confused about, like:

What the hell is Madeline thinking when she ate crab cakes, coconut shrimp, and lobster pot stickers? These are some of the best triggers of allergy and yet… (my palm landed on my face) she ate them. (horrid face). She knew how sick she was, right?

Anyways, reading this book has been a great experience and a privilege.

Until my next book review. (smiles)

16 thoughts on “ARC Review: Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

  1. aentee @ read at midnight says:

    I also really enjoyed the writing and the way the charts and diagrams were included. I thought it was a nice touch of whimsy! I definitely got very annoyed at Maddy at times as she didn’t ever act like an ill person, as she had no sense of self preservation. But I guess the ending made sense. I’m happy you enjoyed it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

