Book Review: The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

25203675

256-256-a97f9264809c50ac09a0a254d1129608

arrows

Fate and fortune. Power and passion. What does it take to be the queen of a kingdom when you’re only seventeen?

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of death and destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…


But Akaran has its own secrets—thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most…including herself.

arrows

★★★★★(5 stars)

arrows

Maya has been loathed by everyone because of her cursed horoscope. A marriage with death and destruction.

But when a young man appears in front of her in her wedding day, willing to take the her hand despite the curse, she willingly accepts.

Now, her world shifted as she became the queen of Arakan, a place she have never heard before. But what lies behind those close doors may be the one that makes her fall into destruction.

arrows

  • Hades and Persephone + Psyche and Eros retelling. Yes please! These are my most favorite stories in greek mythology! I love how the author incorporated the stories and blended it into a superb combination.

Continue reading

ARC Review: And I Darken by Kiersten White

27190613.jpg

256-256-a97f9264809c50ac09a0a254d1129608

arrows

NO ONE EXPECTS A PRINCESS TO BE BRUTAL.

And Lada Dragwlya likes it that way. Ever since she and her gentle younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman courts, Lada has known that being ruthless is the key to survival. She and Radu are doomed to act as pawns in a vicious game, an unseen sword hovering over their every move. For the lineage that makes them special also makes them targets.

Lada despises the Ottomans and bides her time, planning her vengeance for the day when she can return to Wallachia and claim her birthright. Radu longs only for a place where he feels safe. And when they meet Mehmed, the defiant and lonely son of the sultan, who’s expected to rule a nation, Radu feels that he’s made a true friend—and Lada wonders if she’s finally found someone worthy of her passion.

But Mehmed is heir to the very empire that Lada has sworn to fight against—and that Radu now considers home. Together, Lada, Radu, and Mehmed form a toxic triangle that strains the bonds of love and loyalty to the breaking point.

arrows

★★★★★★(6 stars)

arrows

I have received an advance readers copy of this novel from Netgalley and the publisher for an honest review.

“So the question becomes, Daughter of the Dragon, what will you sacrifice? What will you let be taken away so that you, too, can have power?”

Ladislav Dragwlya is born with the ferocity of the dragon and the face of a witch. She was never an asset to her father. Because for him, marrying her off to someone with great power is the only way for her to be useful. Until, Radu was born.

Radu Dragwlya is the exact opposite of Lada. He was born gentle and the handsomest among all men. But when their father sells them off to the Ottoman empire, both knew that their father, the prince of Wallachia, is the last person they want to return to.

Now that the game has started to play on them, both must learn how to adapt and survive in the empire’s culture and the future that awaits them.

arrows

  • This book is simply amazing. For days, I have been struggling to review this thing! Honestly, I’m speechless. (Laughs) But anyways, when I came across this one on Buzz Books and I swear, the excerpt made me so curious that I have to request it on the spot. Lucky am I to have this book accepted.

Continue reading

Book Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

17927395

256-256-a97f9264809c50ac09a0a254d1129608

arrows

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

arrows

★★★★★(5 stars)

arrows


First and for all, I would like to inform my dear readers the fact that I have included in my review of A Court of Thorns and Roses some of the things that are quite general for the whole series. To make this review short and not redundant, I decided to just state only the things that I have observed in the second book of the series. If you want to read my review of the first book, click here.


Feyre has saved Prythian from the hands of the evil Amarantha and has decided to marry her High Lord, Tamlin when the nightmares began to occur. Gore, horror and darkness hunt her when she sleeps.

Now, Tamlin protects her in his manor, in fear of loosing her again. But the change of events shifted as Rhysand, The High Lord of the Night Court took her in respect of their bargain.

arrows

I am honestly fangirling right now and I can’t focus on reviewing the book. Honestly this is just so… (Laughs)

Anyways, here are the reasons why you should read the book.

  • The story gets better and better and better! This may be a thick novel with about 640 whooping pages but it is all worth it. The story has so much going on that you’ll find yourself realizing that you haven’t even blinked when the sun started to come out.

Continue reading

Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas


A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

arrows

★★★★ (4 stars)

arrows

Fayre has been the breadwinner of her family ever since she learned how to hunt. But one day, as winter seeps into the woods, she killed a wolf while hunting for a deer.

What she doesn’t know is that she killed a Fae and that comes with a price. An eternity with a Tamlin, a High Lord of the Spring Court, a fae who can transform himself into a beast.

As the time pass, Fayre’s loathe for the creature turned into a desire that will bring her to the ends of the earth just to save him from his curse.

arrows

  • The Beauty and the Beast. I love the concept of the retelling. My favorite fairy tale and my favorite creatures molded into one masterpiece that is truly worth the wait.

Continue reading