Book Review: Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

256-256-a97f9264809c50ac09a0a254d1129608
arrows

Welcome to the world of the Grisha.

After pulling off a seemingly impossible heist in the notorious Ice Court, criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker feels unstoppable. But life is about to take a dangerous turn—and with friends who are among the deadliest outcasts in Ketterdam city, Kaz is going to need more than luck to survive in this unforgiving underworld.

arrows★★★★(4 stars)

arrows


First and for all, I would like to inform my dear readers the fact that I have included in my review of Six of Crows some of the things that are quite general for the whole series. To make this review short and not redundant, I decided to just state only the things that I have observed in the second book of the series. If you want to read my review of the first book, click here.


When Kaz and his friends found out that they were scammed, he finds a way to let the merchant who promised them wealth, pay. With every meticulous plan and successful exits, Kaz and his gang found themselves in a game not only the city of Ketterdam is playing but also, the countries surrounding it.

arrows

  • The story is cleverly written. From the plot to each of the main characters in her story, the author has made the best out of each and every element including Kaz’s extraordinary tactic and intelligence.

  • Character diversity. I love how the author has molded everyone into something unique and not just the typical main leads who are expected to sweep you off your feet. Her characters may be flawed but their flaws are what made them great. (Smiles)
  • Visualization. Reading Crooked Kingdom is like watching a movie in full action. It is very comprehensively written that every scene is never impossible to imagine.


If you haven’t read Crooked Kingdom yet, you may leave this part alone

  • Matthias’s death. One of the things that bothered me the most is how Matthias died. He may not be my favorite character but having him killed by a boy after everything they have been through is just so weird. I mean, it seems to me that the author is looking for sympathy towards his character. (Sigh)

arrows
Thank you so much for reading my review. I hope you’ll enjoy reading Crooked Kingdom if you haven’t picked it up yet. I hope to see you soon!

Till my next review!

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

  1. audreywritesabroad says:

    Love, love, LOVE this series! Matthias wasn’t my favorite character either, so I didn’t think much of his death at first, but now I think he deserved a ‘bigger’ death. Especially since he’s portrayed as such a strong character, it felt too easy for him to be killed by just a random boy. But still, the book is awesome! Like you say it’s like watching a movie in full action!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

