ARC Review: Internet Famous by Danika Stone

256-256-a97f9264809c50ac09a0a254d1129608
arrows

High school senior and internet sensation Madison Nakama seems to have it all: a happy family, good grades, and a massive online following for her pop-culture blog. But when her mother suddenly abandons the family, Madi finds herself struggling to keep up with all of her commitments.

Fandom to the rescue! As her online fans band together to help, an online/offline flirtation sparks with Laurent, a French exchange student. Their internet romance—played out in the comments section of her MadLibs blog—attracts the attention of an internet troll who threatens the separation of Madi’s real and online personas. With her carefully constructed life unraveling, Madi must uncover the hacker’s identity before he can do any more damage, or risk losing the people she loves the most… Laurent included.

arrows

★(1 star)

arrows

I have received an advance readers copy of this novel from Netgalley and the publisher for an honest review.

Madi’s Blog MadLibs is more popular than she thought. With lots and lots of viewers and followers, Madi has found comfort in her online friends including Laurent. With this blossoming romance, Madi has found herself drowned and she must save herself before everything, incuding Laurent, is lost forever.

arrows

  • There are really relatable scenarios in the novel. I, myself, sometimes vent out my anger, happiness and even frustrations out in social media. It is a way of releasing tension and feels. What I love about this novel is the way it captures the reality of being a blogger inside and out and how online friendship can be real.

  • The main character, Madi, is the most ill mannered book personality that I have ever encountered. I hate how she treats her family in a very rude way. To be honest, I have encountered worse when I was ten but never did I treated my mother like that. I mean, Madi’s mother should have considered leaving her children in exchange for that teaching opportunity she received at Oxford but on the other hand, Madi should have been matured enough to understand the sacrifice her mother is making in choosing between her career and her family. Madi’s attitude towards the topic really upsets me to the point where I decided to DNF the novel at 25%.
  • Sarah. Her character is the weirdest thing all throughout the book. She is a fifteen year old highschool student, intelligent enough to be enrolled at harvard but dumb enough to be acting like a 5th grader. She is literally treated like a kid that throws tantrums which involves police cars and search parties. I really would have thought that she is around nine if the author hadn’t stated her age. (Rolls eyes)
  • Can we not have the swoony too good to be true male lead? I am really fine with having these kind of characters all over the place but what killed the mood is the fact that the author continuously blabber about how handsome and perfect the character is to the point that it really annoys me to the core. I mean, don’t remind me every freaking chapter that his face is as gorgeous as someone who is plucked from the poster of a romantic comedy movie. (Sighs)

arrows
I am very sorry to tell you that I DNFed this novel due to the reasons I have stated above.

Thank you for reading my post and for visiting my blog. I hope you’ll have a nice day!

Till my next review!

4 thoughts on “ARC Review: Internet Famous by Danika Stone

  1. Melanie @ Bookmarked Bliss says:

    I enjoyed this book more than you did, I thought it was sweet and fun, albeit a bit cheesey. But I fully agree with you on a lot of the points, especially about the male lead. This one really seemed to push the too good to be true-ness to the limit! The one thing I have to disagree about though is Sarah. Sarah is on the autism spectrum, so although she is extremely intelligent it is not out of character for her to lack the emotional and social maturity we might expect from a girl of 15. I really appreciated Sarah’s character in the book and felt t was an important representation. My son is 8 but there are are times when he responds to situations like a 2 year old might and it can be really difficult to understand. Just wanted to clear up why her character might have seemed so out of joint for you. 🙂 I love reading other people’s thoughts on books, especially when they differ from my own. Good review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

