ARC Review: One Italian Summer by Keris Stainton

256-256-a97f9264809c50ac09a0a254d1129608
arrows

It’s been a year since Milly, Elyse and Leonie’s dad died, and a year since their last trip to Rome. Summer’s here again, and once again they are heading with their mum to Italy – but what’s it going to be like going without Dad? Rome still holds its familiar charms – the sun is still as warm, the gelato as delicious, the people as welcoming. But nothing is quite as it once was … 

With grief still raw for all of them, Milly is facing the additional awfulness of having to see Luke again – gorgeous, gorgeous Luke, who she had a fling with last year, and who she made a total fool of herself with – or so she thinks. What’s going to happen this time?

What’s more, things between Milly, her sisters and their mum are rocky – Leonie is being tempestuous and unpredictable, Elyse is caught up with her new boyfriend, and Milly feels like she just doesn’t know how she fits in any more. 

Over one Italian summer, can Milly find a way back to the life she once had?

arrows

★(1 stars)
arrows
I have received an advance readers copy of this novel from Netgalley and the publisher for an honest review.

Milly’s family had lost their father about a year ago and still misses him a lot. When her aunt invited her family for a wedding, she finds herself in the place where she used to be on vacation with her father. Italy, which, will never be the same again.

  • arrowsIt is one easy read. With a very light plot and a simple writing style, the reader will surely enjoy reading this in one sitting.

  • Italy. Who doesn’t love Italy? Having it’s rich culture as its backdrop, the novel will take you to the place of where food is at its finest and romance just sitting around the corner.
  • The essence of family. I really love this about the novel. The way the sisters treat each other and how they concern themselves for their mother.

arrows

  • Slow pacing. The reason why I DNF this novel is because half of the book, I only knew about the death of their father and the character’s constant babble about it. I mean, sure, death is not a simple thing to accept, but don’t spend the whole book just talking about how hurtful it is for the family. It annoys me how the focus of the book never reach out to its other themes.
  • I hate how explicit this book is. They cuss as if that’s the only thing to say. It’s not like I’m a saint in not saying bad words myself but reading this novel makes me cringe every time they curse.

arrows
Thank you for reading my review!

Even if I ended up not finishing this book, I admit, did enjoy reading it. For a novel that is set in Italy, how can I resist?

So tell me what you think in the comments down below.

Till my next review!

3 thoughts on “ARC Review: One Italian Summer by Keris Stainton

  1. Kayla @ Kdrewkthebookworm says:

    I’m sorry you disliked this book! I personally rated it 4 stars, but I still also found flaws in it. I loved the family aspect for sure, and even though I liked Millie, she did complain about her dad’s death quite a bit too much. Great review!💙

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

