Book Review: A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas

 

img_4151

256-256-a97f9264809c50ac09a0a254d1129608

arrows

Looming war threatens all Feyre holds dear in the third volume of the #1 New York Times bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses series.

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit-and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well.

As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords-and hunt for allies in unexpected places. 
In this thrilling third book in the #1 New York Timesbestselling series from Sarah J. Maas, the earth will be painted red as mighty armies grapple for power over the one thing that could destroy them all.

arrows

★★★(3 stars)

arrows


First and for all, I would like to inform my dear readers the fact that I have included in my review of A Court of Thorns and Roses and A Court of Mist and Fury some of the things that are quite general for the whole series. To make this review short and not redundant, I decided to just state only the things that I have observed in the third book of the series. If you want to read my review of the first book, click here. For the second book, click here.


Hybern has planed his war against Pyrithian, not caring about the cost of destruction it is going to have. With a plan, The Night Court and the rest of the courts tries to stop the brutes from destroying their lands.

arrows

  • Feyre’s character development. I am very much impressed on how her character grew from the huntress in the woods to becoming the High Lady of the Night Court. I love how Sarah carved her character from being the meek and naive human girl to the fierce, intellectual and strong ruler of the land.

arrows

  • The story is too dragging despite the fact that there is always something going on. I admit, reading this made my brain too drained to even write a review. I am constantly mumbling upon myself up until the last sentence, debating if I should continue reading or stop. Don’t get me wrong though, there are also many good things in the novel to love, however, sometimes, Feyre’s narrative gets a little bit too boring.
  • The “Next Book Syndrome”. It is not a lie that the hype of the previous book is so drastic that every booknerd on the planet expected the next to be consistent or even better. What noticed in this novel is that, from beginning to end, it is slowly and surely declining. Yes, maybe there are times when my heart beat stopped and my breathing became faster but all in all, the book kind of disappointed me.
  • There are so many scenes and diversities that are simply out of place. I never knew why some parts of the story are just so, misplaced. From some sex scenes (which I will be discussing later), Tamlin’s tantrums to who knows how long the list will take, there is always something that is not just right.

Spoilers! People who haven’t read A Court of Wings and Ruin yet can leave this portion alone.

  • Fifty shades of Rhysand. The truth is, I don’t know how to describe the growth of Rhys’s and Feyre’s relationship in this novel. It was fun reading about their ridiculously hilarious banters and jokes in the previous novel but, it seems like Rys’s sweet and caring image turned into this perverted bastard who wants Feyre to be naked whenever they meet. It’s making me cringe every time. (Sighs)
  • Tamlin. His decline is really shocking even for me who did not even enjoy his character from the start. I mean, he deserves what he got from being this annoying prick all through out the novel but his character development is just so poor, it is like having this blindingly beautiful red rose, trampled and stepped nicely on the ground, and then, left to rot. Cruel isn’t it?
  • Realizing the big reveal isn’t too big after all. It so frustrating how each reveal seems to be too shallow for what the author made us expect in the previous book. Questions like: What happened in Calanmai? What is going on between Mor and Azriel? What is Amren’s true form? Each of them and a whole lot more made me crazy, thinking, only to find out that they are not worth the hype I have been giving them.
  • The forced happy ending. This is just too unrealistic. I won’t be ranting myself out on this one but it really pesters me how every single one of them survived the war given the risk they are in.

arrows
I am really sorry to tell you about how disappointing Sarah J. Maas’s latest novel is. I hope you’ll enjoy it despite the things I have mentioned above. You can leave your comments down below on what you think about this book.

Thank you for reading my review despite its length. I hope to see you soon!

Till my next book review!

Leave a Reply

