Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas


A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

arrows

★★★★ (4 stars)

arrows

Fayre has been the breadwinner of her family ever since she learned how to hunt. But one day, as winter seeps into the woods, she killed a wolf while hunting for a deer.

What she doesn’t know is that she killed a Fae and that comes with a price. An eternity with a Tamlin, a High Lord of the Spring Court, a fae who can transform himself into a beast.

As the time pass, Fayre’s loathe for the creature turned into a desire that will bring her to the ends of the earth just to save him from his curse.

arrows

  • The Beauty and the Beast. I love the concept of the retelling. My favorite fairy tale and my favorite creatures molded into one masterpiece that is truly worth the wait.

  • The realm of the Fae. It has been years since I last read something about them. Wicked Lovely has been a wonderful read that I have been looking for a good book with Fae in it and no doubt, this never failed to amaze me.
  • The sense of humor makes it very very entertaining. It is rare to find a book with a very good sense of humor. I mean, every joke in this book is funny as the author has intended it.

arrows

  • The book is unusually long. Don’t get me wrong. It’s not draggingly long. It’s just that, 416 pages seems like a lifetime to read. I’m not a slow reader and I’m not that fast either but the book is surprisingly long that it took me days to read. How do you expect me to react when only 20% of the book moved after 5 hours of reading?

arrows

  • The freaking One True Pairing (OTP). Okay, so I meant to cuss there. I mean, I have read ACOTAR after the ACOMAF hype and everyone is shipping Rhysand instead of Tamlin. How do you expect me to react? I have been expecting Rhysand to be the leading man of Feyre from the beginning since my bestfriend told me that she shipped them and I saw dozens of pictures online. But when I read ACOTAR, to my surprise, Tamlin was the leading man and Rhysand doesn’t appear until the later part of the book. My mind is spinning! I’m so confused! I don’t know if I should call it a spoiler or not but that really suppressed me from shipping Tamlin. (Laughs)

arrows

Anyways, I had enjoyed the book enough to say that the OTP did not ruined that much of my experience. I mean, I haven’t shipped anyone in the book, not even Tamlin so I am really looking forward to read the next. What makes people ship for Rhysand and what happened to Tamlin? Well, it’s time for me to figure that one out! (laughs)

Till my next review guys!

5 thoughts on “Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

