Book Review: The Siren by Kiera Cass

25817407

256-256-a97f9264809c50ac09a0a254d1129608

arrows

Love is a risk worth taking.

Years ago, Kahlen was rescued from drowning by the Ocean. To repay her debt, she has served as a Siren ever since, using her voice to lure countless strangers to their deaths. Though a single word from Kahlen can kill, she can’t resist spending her days on land, watching ordinary people and longing for the day when she will be able to speak and laugh and live freely among them again.

Kahlen is resigned to finishing her sentence in solitude…until she meets Akinli. Handsome, caring, and kind, Akinli is everything Kahlen ever dreamed of. And though she can’t talk to him, they soon forge a connection neither of them can deny…and Kahlen doesn’t want to.

Falling in love with a human breaks all the Ocean’s rules, and if the Ocean discovers Kahlen’s feelings, she’ll be forced to leave Akinli for good. But for the first time in a lifetime of following the rules, Kahlen is determined to follow her heart.

arrows

★★★(3 stars)

arrows

Kahlen had lived a lavish life together with her family until, the ship they are in sank. Lured by Sirens to their death, Kahlen’s only choice is to cry for help. But help never always comes for free. In exchange of her life, she has to become a Siren, a girl who’s voice is as deadly as venom. But what happened after eighty years of being obedient to the Ocean is not something that Kahlen has expected. To fall in love with Akinli, a human can be  a risk to both humans and sirens.

arrows

  • The novel is one light read. For those who are looking for a book which can be finished in one sitting, this book is perfect for you. The plot is light, the romance is light. Perfect for that overnight trip to the beach.

arrows

  • The book is very dragging. Kahlen’s narration is so full of negative thoughts and whining that it feels like I’m reading ‘I’m at fault at this and I’m depressed for that’ every time, which makes me question her character of being well, the main character of the story. She even locks herself in her room for days! Not my type of main character.
  • Insta-love. One thing I hate about this novel is how fast Kahlen and Akinli fell head over heels in love with each other. I mean, yes they had cake and yes they meet again, but isn’t it too early to call that true love? Well, for those who hate insta-love, this is definitely a no no.

arrows

This book has been one of the most popular standalone novels because of it’s author, Kiera Cass. I picked this book up because of her and it really did disappoint me a bit knowing how wonderful her ‘The Selection’ series is. I’m not saying that it’s not good. I liked it but there is that expectation building up in me when I am reading this book that leads to my disappointment. Sorry guys, it seems like this in an unpopular option for me now. (sighs)

arrows

Sad that I am rating the book low, I am still recommending it to everyone who wants a light standalone read. Since it’s summer, this is perfect for that trip to the beach or even when you’re at home. I hope you like it more than I did. (smiles)

Till my next review guys!

9 thoughts on “Book Review: The Siren by Kiera Cass

  1. Ara | The Bookish Agenda says:

    I actually liked this book- you’re right, it’s a very light read. But UGH the insta-love thing. I was willing to tolerate all the other flaws of this book because I really liked the premise, but the romance between Kahlen and Akinli is just a major turn-off for me. I guess another reason why I really liked this was how it made me cry really hard towards the end.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    Hmmm, a light read but one that drags on, and filled with negative thoughts. I dismissed this one because of the cover, thought about picking it up because of several really positive reviews, and now I’m confused again after reading yours! I didn’t like The Selection, though. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bea @ When Curiosity Killed the Cat says:

      Hahaha. Our taste may differ though. 😊 I have read good reviews too regarding the book. Well, I’ve read them after reading the book though but this really is not that good for me. 😊 I bet some are touched by the how it ended but for me… Well, people really have different tastes. But I still recommend the book though. 😊

      Like

  3. imjustanotherbookaholic says:

    I one-hundred percent agree with you. I would rate the selection series a 5-stars without second-thinking. It felt like this book here was meant for a younger audience maybe? No one would believe that The Siren and The Selection series are written by the same author, to be honest. It was an utter disappointment to me. I expected it to be so much better.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kat Impossible says:

    I actually liked this one better than the selection. I was all up for the melancholy and nostalgia it provided, but I can see how one would not enjoy that part. I still don’t think it was a masterpiece, but I guess I liked it a little more than you hahaha

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

