Book Review: Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke


Every story needs a hero.
Every story needs a villain.
Every story needs a secret.

Wink is the odd, mysterious neighbor girl, wild red hair and freckles. Poppy is the blond bully and the beautiful, manipulative high school queen bee. Midnight is the sweet, uncertain boy caught between them. Wink. Poppy. Midnight. Two girls. One boy. Three voices that burst onto the page in short, sharp, bewitching chapters, and spiral swiftly and inexorably toward something terrible or tricky or tremendous.

What really happened?
Someone knows.
Someone is lying.

arrows

★★★★★(5 stars)

arrows

Wink. Poppy. Midnight.

Which is which? Who is to blame? Who is the hero? Who is the villain? What happened?

arrows

  • This book is so alluring that I can’t get my eyes off it. The blurb is one of the the reasons why I decided to pick this book up. It’s so enticing that I became curious of what the hype is all about. Aside from it, this book also intrigues me because of the various reaction people gives toward it.

  • Magical realism plus thrillogy, what a bizzarre combination. I love how the author wrote the novel. Poetic and apprehensive.
  • The chapters are cut short. One of the reasons why I love this book is because the chapters are written in a short yet precise manner. It’s like having staccato notes played on the piano.
  • There is an element of horror in the book. This took me by surprise when I dared to read the book at night. This element made the book more tense and dark, making it more interesting to read.
  • This novel is a combination of We Were Liars and Paper Towns. E. Lockhart’s novel We Were Liars has been one of the books that is somewhat similar to Wink Poppy Midnight. As the story goes along, you can also see a little bit of John Green’s Paper Towns. So if you love these books, you’ll definitely love this one.

arrows

  • The story is very very confusing. You think you know what’s next? Well, think again. This novel is never predictable. But despite that, this novel also makes the reader’s mind go crazy. What is happening? Well, even I don’t know. (laughs)
  • This book is extremely weird. If you don’t like books that are uncanny, well, this is not the book for you.


This book has been weirdly beautiful to me and I recommend it to all those who want something bizzarre to read. I hope you’ll like it as much as I did.

Till my next review guys!

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke

  1. Ara | The Bookish Agenda says:

    I’m also curious about this book because of all the hype it was getting! I didn’t like both Paper Towns and We Were Liars, but I think I’m still going to try with this book. Thanks for this review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. tanazmasaba says:

    This sounds like my kind of book! I love books that are weird and uncanny and where the writing has a poetic feel to it. You are right about the blurb–it makes you itch to pick up the book immediately. I think I am going to add this to my TBR next.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

