Book Review: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

23437156.jpg

256-256-a97f9264809c50ac09a0a254d1129608

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

arrows

★★★★★(5 stars)

arrows

Kaz Brekker has been known for his filthy  abilities in the barrel, hence the name, ‘Dirtyhands’. When he is tasked to perform a dangerous heist, he dearly accepts, given, that a huge sum of cash is to be rewarded to him. Now, together with his chosen peers, Kaz begins to infiltrate a country that is so secure, it becomes impossible to escape.arrows

  • The characters have their own distinct features. Six of Crows have six main characters and all of them has their own distinct abilities that is helpful in the heist. No one is annoying enough to make me go crazy. (laughs)

  • The plot is cleverly written. From first page to last, the story is very unpredictable. Dialogues are exchanged wittily and not to mention, the romance portion of the book is never too cheesy. This book is just the perfect combination.
  • There are visuals in the book. If you are reading the actual book like I did, you will notice that there are two maps situated in the first two pages of the book. This really helped me imagine what it was like inside the Ice Court.

arrows

To be honest with you, I have been spoiled of the ending of the book. I hate it when someone tells me about the ending even if it’s a lie or partially a lie. It makes my review biased since the thrill is not that ignited anymore while I continue reading. It’s my greatest bookish pet peeve and I hate risking a good book for that.

Anyways, despite that, I tried my best to be honest enough on this review. I love this book and I commend the author for writing such a masterpiece.

arrows

As I end this review, I would like to recommend it to everyone who has not read this book yet. And for those who are waiting for the next, Crooked Kingdom is said to be released this 27th of September 2016. So grab your copy now and enjoy this impressive work of art.

Till my next review!

 

 

17 thoughts on “Book Review: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

  1. Aralyn says:

    Oh, my goodness, I totally understand your peeve. I’ve come across people yelling to world major spoilers for books and some reviewers fail to mention there are spoilers, so you accidentally see them…. *sighs*
    I’m glad you enjoyed the book, though. I can’t wait to read the next one! I read the Grisha trilogy, but I forget so much at this point.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bea @ When Curiosity Killed the Cat says:

      Hahaha!!! I hate that one to. That’s the reason why I never read book reviews of books that I plan to read. I read them after I finished my review because it makes my review biased and not an original reaction. 😂😂😂

      Anyways, this is the first one that I have read from Leigh Bardugo and I plan to read more of her. 😍 Can’t wait to read Crooked Kingdom. 😍

      Like

  2. tpolen says:

    I loved this book – probably one of my favs from last year. I know what you mean about spoilers – I never give them in my reviews – I’d never want to ruin the experience for other readers.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

