Book Review: Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

13206760

256-256-a97f9264809c50ac09a0a254d1129608

arrows

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

arrows

★★★★(4 stars)

arrows

Scarlet Benoit has been living her peaceful life together with her grandmother in Rieux, France until one day, her grand-mere goes missing. Believing that she was kidnapped, Scarlet tries to find clues leading to the mysterious person named Wolf. Together with this complete stranger, Scarlet discovers the things her grandmother never dare to reveal to her.

Meanwhile on the other side of the world, Cinder tries to escape from prison after her real identity is revealed making her the most wanted person in Commonwealth. Together with a man who calls himself “Captain”, Cinder must find a way to find the person whom she believes knows every little thing about her. And that is, Scarlet’s beloved grandmother.

arrows


First and for all, I would like to inform my dear readers the fact that I have included in my review of Cinder some of the things that are quite general for the whole series. To make this review short and not redundant, I decided to just state only the things that I have observed in the second book of the series. If you want to read my review of the first book, click here.


  • The story gets better and better on every page. As compared to Cinder, Scarlet has been better when it comes to pacing, story line and even love scenes.

  • The story of Wolf and Scarlet being inserted in the book is very very refreshing. The story between Kai and Cinder has been a great annoyance for me for the whole of the novel that I could have DNFed this book if Scarlet and Wolf wasn’t involved.
  • I love how each character grows into something that is better. Well, except for Kai, I love how the characters grows into their own better version of themselves. How they deal with the situations they are involved with and how they assess the dilemmas they are given.

arrows

  • The somehow annoying person of the Emperor. I am very sorry to tell you that I am not impressed by Kai in the second installation of this novel. Yes, I understand how difficult it was to be pressured and make the decisions and I know that he is kept in the dark but PLEASE! In my opinion, he has been a big disappointment.

arrows

  • I realized that this series is overhyped. Yes, you heard me right. It is overhyped in my opinion since it doesn’t give that much thrill to the readers unlike some famous series like Red Queen. I know, I never should be comparing books but I couldn’t help it. Better to read this one out to know what I mean. (smiles)
  • The anime element of the series. I am so thrilled to share to you about this since I am a fan of anime ever since I was a child. Well, I love how the author put this element on the novel without ruining the realistic element of the story.

arrows

All in all, this book has been a great read for me. It is better and exciting. I can’t wait to read the next installation!

So, till my next blog post! (smiles)

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

Leave a Reply

