Book Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

11235712

256-256-a97f9264809c50ac09a0a254d1129608

arrows

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

arrows

★★★★(4 stars)

arrows

 Linh Cinder is a mechanic who has exemplary skills when it comes to fixing technology. But not only is she gifted, she also possesses a body of a cyborg. Partly human and partly cyborg, Cinder works in her booth in a market to create a living for her family. A stepmother who orders her to fix almost anything, a stepsister who only cares for herself and another stepsister who loves and cares for her.

But when Prince Kai, the crown prince appears in front of her booth to seek help on his broken android and an outbreak of Letumosis, a disease which is epidemic in the whole world infected one of the merchants in the market, Cinder find her way to a series of twist you will never dare to miss.

arrows

  • The story is very very unique. For a retelling of Cinderella, Cinder is quite impressive, setting the story in a beautiful futuristic era.

  • I am impressed by how the characters are depicted. There are some twists to the characters like one of the stepsister is not evil. There is also the character of Levana who is the most evil queen of Luna, the moon.
  • The characters of the story are transparent to each other compared to the original fairytale. One example is Price Kai and Cinder. In the original fairytale, the two never met twice nor they knew each other before the ball.
  • The pacing of the book is also impressive. The book is divided into four parts, each part guides us onto how the story of Cinder is connected to the story of Cinderella. It is quite helpful in the pacing of the story since it gives us a clue onto where to begin connecting the dots and where it ends.

arrows

  • One twist after another. Honestly, one of the reasons why I rated this brilliant novel four stars is because of the unending twists in the story. Don’t get me wrong. I love plot twists but in the case of Cinder, it is different. I almost DNF Cinder in about 90% of the book. The twists and turns came in like cannon balls, always bad, always evil until it becomes too annoying in my part.
  • The predictable ending. I won’t elaborate much on this but one of the things that truly disappointed me is the ending. For me, I somehow predicted that ending, especially  Cinder’s true identity in the middle of the book. Not a bit surprising for me though.
  • The love story lacks some of the elements of love. As I have observed, from the first part of the book till the ball, Prince Kai never wanted anyone other than Cinder to be his partner. Well, that would be a romantic gesture to ask her to the ball. But all this time, the prince only wanted Cinder to be his  escapegoat from having the lunar queen dance with him. And by the end of the book, I felt the lack of the element of love in the love story between the main characters. After all, this is just the first. Let’s see what happens next in the other books though.

arrows

  • Kai’s Charm. Honestly, this is the only book wherein I could feel the charms radiating from a character. I don’t know if watching Cinderella, the 2015 movie affected my bet on the prince but he is just simply charming for me. (laughs)

arrows

Anyways, Cinder has been a great read for me. I think almost everyone on the name of books have read this novel, but for those who still haven’t, I would really love to recommend this to you. (smiles)

Till my next book review everyone!

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

  1. Ayunda says:

    I liked the story idea of Cinder and the whole series, but I just feel like it wasn’t executed very well. I totally agree about the predictable plot and for me the writing wasn’t all that special. I’m not a huge fan of the entire series, but maybe it’s just me growing out of YA novels? I’ve seen a lot of people loving the series and I feel like a minority.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lauren Busser says:

    This is a really thoughtful review. Cinder has been making its way onto my TBR lists on and off for the last year! I finally had one of my friends shout: “YOU NEED TO READ CINDER!” I am going to have to pick it up sooner rather than later, and it sounds like it won’t disappoint!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

