Book Recap: The White Rose by Amy Ewing

24585267 (1)

256-256-a97f9264809c50ac09a0a254d1129608

arrows

Violet is on the run. After the Duchess of the Lake catches Violet with Ash, the hired companion at the Palace of the Lake, Violet has no choice but to escape the Jewel or face certain death. So along with Ash and her best friend, Raven, Violet runs away from her unbearable life of servitude.

But no one said leaving the Jewel would be easy. As they make their way through the circles of the Lone City, Regimentals track their every move, and the trio barely manages to make it out unscathed and into the safe haven they were promised—a mysterious house in the Farm.

But there’s a rebellion brewing, and Violet has found herself in the middle of it. Alongside a new ally, Violet discovers her Auguries are much more powerful than she ever imagined. But is she strong enough to rise up against the Jewel and everything she has ever known?

The White Rose is a raw, captivating sequel to The Jewel that fans won’t be able to put down until the final shocking moments.

arrows

★★★★(4 stars)

arrows

When Violet and Ash’s relationship has come to surface, these two must find a way to escape the brutal hand of the Duchess of the Lake. But that’s not just the case here.

Violet wants Raven to be saved and only Lucien’s technique can have that accomplished. As their escape became twisted, Violet discovered that she and the Surrogates have the power no noble can ever surpass.

arrows


First and for all, I would like to inform my dear readers the fact that I have included in my review of The Jewel some of the things that are quite general for the whole trilogy. To make this review short and not redundant, I decided to just state only the things that I have observed in the second book of the series. If you want to read my review of the first book, click here.


  • The story is very well progressed. It is not fast paced neither it is slow. It captures each of the scenes perfectly without being too flowery with words.

  • The story becomes very interesting as you read by. The story possesses it’s unpredictability when it comes to what happens between the characters as the story goes on. As many would have said, this book contains much of the cliches when it comes to dystopian fantasy books but nevertheless,  the twists in this book will make you fangirling in the end. (smiles)

arrows

  • Have you ever heard of the “Red Queen Syndrome”? Okay, so I named that myself. I read The White Rose the day after I finished Glass Sword and I find it very weird whenever TRUST ISSUES are involved. Don’t get me wrong. I don’t have a book hangover when I started this book it’s just that… (I’m trying hard to explain to eliminate bias) Whenever Violet, Ash and Raven encounters a stranger, they instantly trusts them and I was like… “What the hell! Don’t trust them!”… But in the end, they are pretty much trusted and I would continue reading and tolerate it. Guess I am just badly infected by the syndrome at that time that I have trust issues with everyone. (Laughs)

arrows

For me, this book has been an enjoyable read. Despite it’s flaws, this book has me interested and curious on how the series would end. I recommend it to everyone who loves Dystopia/Fantasy books. I am looking forward to read the next!

Till my next blog post!

Leave a Reply

