ARC Review: You Were Here by Cori McCarthy

25679559

256-256-a97f9264809c50ac09a0a254d1129608

arrows

Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points of view – combined with stunning illustrations.

Jaycee is about to accomplish what her older brother Jake couldn’t: live past graduation.

Jaycee is dealing with her brother’s death the only way she can – by re-creating Jake’s daredevil stunts. The ones that got him killed. She’s not crazy, okay? She just doesn’t have a whole lot of respect for staying alive.

Jaycee doesn’t expect to have help on her insane quest to remember Jake. But she’s joined by a group of unlikely friends – all with their own reasons for completing the dares and their own brand of dysfunction: the uptight, ex-best friend, the heartbroken poet, the slacker with Peter Pan syndrome, and… Mik. He doesn’t talk, but somehow still challenges Jayce to do the unthinkable-reveal the parts of herself that she buried with her brother.

Cori McCarthy’s gripping narrative defies expectation, moving seamlessly from prose to graphic novel panels and word art poetry, perfect for fans of E. Lockhart, Jennier Niven, and Jandy Nelson. From the petrifying ruins of an insane asylum to the skeletal remains of the world’s largest amusement park, You Were Here takes you on an unforgettable journey of friendship, heartbreak and inevitable change.

arrows

★★★★★(5 stars)

arrows

Jaycee’s everything has been broken ever since her brother died out of a stupid dare. Five years has passed and what happened still lingers in Jaycee’s very existence. Now that everything has consumed her being, Jaycee must prove to everyone that she is not as suicidal as her daredevil brother.

arrows

  • The story is very heartwarming and at the same time very amusing. Jake’s death had been traumatic for everyone especially for Jaycee, his little sister, who has the best seat in the house when the accident happened. Five years later, Jaycee is reunited with her friends in a quest to complete Jake’s series of dares. There are no concrete words to describe how I felt about this book. It is just simply stunning.

  • This is not just a story about love and sex, it is also about mending broken relationships. The sentence explains it all. (smiles)
  • The story is depicted in different mediums of art. This is the most interesting part of the book. I, for one, am surprised to see the point of view of Bishop and Mik in a different medium rather than the traditional words on paper. It gives the readers a clue on how the characters and Bishop’s street art really looks like.

arrows

  • Some of the characters have very weird names. Like for example. How the hell would you expect me to pronounce Mikivikious correctly? And when abbreviated to Mik? Am I supposed to pronounce it as “Mike” or literally “Mik”? Oh this is very confusing! (laughs)

arrows

All in all, this book has been one of the most beautiful reads I have so far this year and I recommend everyone to give it a shot.

For anime lovers who also loves books, the story can be compared to the tearjerker tale of Ano Hi Mita Hana no Namae o Boku-tachi wa Mada Shiranai or what we simply know as, Ano Hana. It contains a hodgepodge of emotions that will surely make you smile, laugh and cry. (smiles)

The novel is to be released on March 1, 2016.

So if you are looking for a very creative read, You Were Here is a perfect choice.

Till my nest book review everyone! (waves)

 

 

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: You Were Here by Cori McCarthy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s