ARC Review: Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

23174274

arrows

Mare Barrow’s blood is red—the color of common folk—but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control.

The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from Maven, the prince—the friend—who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind.

Pursued by Maven, now a vindictive king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors.

But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat.

Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?

arrows

★★★★★(5 stars)

arrows

I received a copy of this book for an honest review.

Anyone can betray anyone.

Maven have become the monster everyone hates to face. He has betrayed everyone including his brother Cal and Mare, the one whom he loves more than anything in the world.

Now that the truth has been revealed, Mare, Cal and the Guards are on the run, finding a solution to the problem. A list containing the names of newbloods. Like Mare, they bleed Red but possesses the abilities no Silver can predict.

arrows


First and for all, I would like to inform my dear readers the fact that I have included in my review of Red Queen some of the things that are quite general for the whole trilogy. To make this review short and not redundant, I decided to just state only the things that I have observed in the second book of the series. If you want to read my review of the first book, click here.


  • The story gets very interesting with every page you turn. As Mare and Cal escapes Maven’s diabolic claw, the story expands into a greater world of war, tactic and love.

  • If you love Miss Peregrine trilogy, you will surely love this book. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children is a story about children with extraordinary abilities. Here in Glass Sword, the newbloods are the Reds with extremely unique abilities no Silver can comprehend. They are amazing. A thing to look forward to when grabbing this book.
  • Everything is so dramatically twisted. Unpredictable. Nerve-wracking. Everything is just so intense. It’s this feature of the series that makes the readers wanting for more.

arrows

  • I found the first chapters of the book very confusing. The story starts exactly where Red Queen ended and it has been months since I last read it making me confused on what is happening to the story. It is so fast paced that it took me five chapters to indulge into the world where this story is set. Never the less, this book has been an epic read.

arrows

There are so many things I want to talk to you about Red Queen and Glass Sword all together since I realized somethings while I was twitting with my friends on Twitter.

  • First of all, shipping Mare with either Maven or Cal. I know this sounds crazy but I haven’t yet fixed my mind on who to ship Mare with. I shipped Cal for the first part of Red Queen the fixed my mind on Maven somewhere in the middle. When that hell of an ending came, my trust is shattered and everything becomes very very complicated. I rooted for Cal in Glass Sword though not entirely shipping them. But then again, Maven came and gets the whole love story twisted. I won’t spoil you on anything on this review but this is what I feel about this extreme love triangle. I DON’T SHIP ANYONE! I don’t like Mare being with Maven but I also don’t ship Cal and Mare for that reason.
  • The tagline. It really fits the book so well. Kneel or bleed. Two choices but neither is the best.
  • Last but not the least, the image of Maven. As I am reading, the image of Livius I from the anime, Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushii (The World is Still Beautiful) is the one popping into my mind whenever Maven comes into the scene. A boy with raven black hair and sapphire blue eyes. It is a little bit of a coincidence too that they have so many similarities. Livius, though, started as the cruel tyrant while Maven started as an innocent young boy who is hidden under the shadow of his elder brother Cal. These descriptions made me see Maven in the image of Livius.

04

Livius, as one of my tweets say (if you’re following me on twitter), is one of my ultimate crushes in the anime world. A dream to behold. But despite my anger to Maven’s betrayal, I feel kind of thrilled to see his descriptions matching Livius, the cruel tyrant, very well.

soredomo_thumb[2]

See?!

I guess we won’t be having difficulty in imagining what Maven looks like. (fangirling smile)

arrows

Glass Sword has made this year start with a blast. My first read this year has become one of the best. I know, everyone must have heard about Red Queen and it’s upcoming books and is excited about it’s release. I won’t be saying much since I am blabbering for who knows how many minutes so here is my advice. READ IT AND YOU’LL NEVER REGRET IT. (laughs)

Till my next review guys! Bye! (waves)

13 thoughts on “ARC Review: Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

Leave a Reply

