ARC Review: Did I Mention I Love You? by Estelle Maskame

25883610

book review 1

When sixteen-year-old Eden Munro agrees to spend the summer with her estranged father in the beachfront city of Santa Monica, California, she has no idea what she’s letting herself in for. Eden’s parents are divorced and have gone their separate ways, and now her father has a brand new family. For Eden, this means she’s about to meet three new step-brothers. The eldest of the three is Tyler Bruce, a troubled teenager with a short temper and a huge ego. Complete polar opposites, Eden quickly finds herself thrust into a world full of new experiences as Tyler’s group of friends take her under their wing. But the one thing she just can’t understand is Tyler, and the more she presses to figure out the truth about him, the more she finds herself falling for the one person she shouldn’t – her step-brother.

Throw in Tyler’s clingy girlfriend and a guy who has his eyes set on Eden, and there’s secrets, lies and a whole lot of drama. But how can Eden keep her feelings under control? And can she ever work out the truth about Tyler?

Did I Mention I Love You is the first book in the phenomenal DIMILY trilogy, following the lives of Eden Munro and Tyler Bruce as they try to find their way in an increasingly confusing world.

Book Review

★★★★(4 stars)

book review 1

I have received an advance readers copy of this novel from Netgalley for an honest review.

Eden Munro hates her father more than anything else in the world but when one day he invites her to spend the summer with his new family in the luxurious city of Santa Monica, she went and accepted his invitation.

Tyler Bruce is the eldest of Eden’s three step brothers. A jackass. A trouble maker. The guy whom Eden never expected to hate.

But what if one day, Eden finds herself falling for the person whom she believes is the worst she could ever meet?

Book Review

  • The writing style is good. The story was written in Eden’s point of view and the way the author describes the characters in Eden’s eyes is simple yet poetic.

The atmosphere has shifted, and I can sense his mood in the stillness of the moment. His shoulders are dropped low as he traces the rim of the glass with his middle finger. I don’t want to speak again. I want silence so that I can just study him and all hid features and all hid flaws. I want to look at his face again and I want to catch his gaze and I want to smile and for him to mirror it. I want to see him clench his jaw as he thinks; I want him to trust me enough to tell me what his thoughts are. I want to see through him, to understand him, to accept him.

Book Review

I admit, reviewing this book in a Pros and Cons format is really difficult. There are contradicting ideas in my mind storming in and I really don’t know where to put them. So instead, I would like to write this review under The Somethings in Between. (smiles)

  • This story is a mixture of cliches. Honestly, this book has a little bit of everything. From the stepsibling relationship between Tyler and Eden to the most explicit side of the story. It captures some of the most well known cliches in our society today.

First. The stepsibling relationship reminded me of the Mexican dramas that was aired when I was a child. It is one of the most popular and one of the most abused plot next to people having amnesia.

Second. There is a hint of Fifty Shades of Grey in this novel. With Tyler’s family issues and the sizzling hot yet halfly detailed making out scenes, this novel trully captures the intensity of the said novel.

  • The story makes us aware of the lifestyle some teenagers are living. Honestly, I am a little bit alarmed by how teenagers are depicted in this story. They are too reckless and wild. Parties, alcohol, drugs and even sex. What the hell is going on with them? Am I the only one who’s surprised?
  • Getting over with the taboo. Eden and Tyler’s love story is something that is not quite normal in the society. Even if they are not related by blood, the fact that they are stepsiblings made everything unnatural. But despite that, they fell in love with each other in a manner that it is not disgusting in the view point of the reader.
  • Messed up release dates. The UK release of this novel is different from its American release. So if you are planning to buy the books somewhere, here are the dates for the countries mentioned. For those who are living in the UK, book one was released on July 1, 2015. For the second book, it was released on October 19 and the third one will be released on January 12, 2016. For those who are living in the US, the release dates are December 2015, March 2016 and June 2016 respectively.

This book review has been one of the most difficult reviews I have written. It took me days to capsulize and finalize everything. But despite that, this book is something that I would truly recommend to everyone. So for those who are looking for something wild and crazy, this book is perfect for you.

Till my next book review! (waves)

14 thoughts on “ARC Review: Did I Mention I Love You? by Estelle Maskame

  1. tanazmasaba says:

    I still don’t know how you feel about the relationship between stepsiblings. Sure they are not related by blood but they are still siblings and it’s hard for me to even think about it without feeling squeamish. The writing must be very convincing though if the readers can be okay with it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bea @ When Curiosity Killed the Cat says:

      Honestly, I don’t mind. I didn’t see them as siblings in the first place. And I kind of watch so many shows and movies of the same dilemma that I kind of feel immune of the topic. haha. But if they are related by blood, that would really be a total no no for me. It is so gross having relationships between families and I totally would not read something of the sort. XD

      Like

Leave a Reply

