Book Recap: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

91cMHG1mVaL

book review 1

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.
 
We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart. 

Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

Book Review

★★★★★ (5 stars)

book review 1

The Sinclair family has everything. Prestige, glamour and fame.

They are wise and they are beautiful

They are rich and they are perfect.

They are the Sinclair family and as of now, that is the only thing you need to know.

Book Review

  • The story is very intriguing from beginning to end. Cadence Sinclair Eastman, the first born granddaughter of Tipper and Harris Sinclair, Daughter of Penelope Sinclair Eastman and one of the Liars, is the one narrating the whole story. The story begins with a glimpse of the accident that happened in Summer Fifteen, two years ago, as Cadence remembers it, but did she remembered anything? Well, probably not.

Like I said, I don’t know.

I remember only this: I plunged down into this ocean,

down to rocky rocky bottom, and

I could see the base of Beechwood Island and

my arms and legs felt numb but my fingers were cold. Slices of seaweed went past as I fell.

Mummy found me on the sand, curled into a ball and half underwater. I was shivering uncontrollably. Adults wrapped me in blankets. They tried to get me warm at Cuddledown. They fed me tea and gave me clothes, but when I didn’t talk or stop shivering, they brought me to a hospital on Martha’s Vineyard, where I stayed for several days as the doctors ran tests. Hypothermia, respiratory problems, and most likely some kind of head injury, though the brain scans turned up nothing.

Mummy stayed by my side, got a hotel room. I remember the sad, gray faces of Aunt Carrie, Aunt Bess, and Granddad. I remember my lungs felt full of something, long after the doctors judged them clear. I remember I felt like I’d never get warm again, even when they told me my body temperature was normal. My hands hurt. My feet hurt.

  • The setting is incredible. Every summer, the Sinclair family gathers at their private island called Beechwood Island in Massachusetts to spend their summer vacation. This is one of the things I like about this story. The place seems so real, as if it truly exist. This is what the island looks like in a sketch.

we-were-liars-map

  • The themes of the story are very realistic. I appreciate the way this story was told since competition between family members really do exist in our society today.

Well, like The Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender, I don’t have any complains about this novel. The writing style is good and the plot is very interesting. Something that I would really recommend to all the book lovers out there.

So if you are looking for something to read for a day, this is the perfect book for you.

17 thoughts on “Book Recap: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Leave a Reply

