Book Review: The Selection by Kiera Cass

The_Selection_Cover

Book Cover

book review 1

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

Book Review★★★★ (4 stars)

book review 1

35 beautiful young ladies. One goal. One prince. One crown. This is what The Selection is all about. A fairy tale with a thrilling competition no one ever dares to miss.

But what if, one of the selected is not willing to have it all? America Singer is contented with her life. A loving family, a talent, and a boyfriend, perfect enough to be her groom. But what happens if one day, the world turns upside down? Is she still willing to bring back the life she used to love?

The prince, Maxon. Ready to choose among the Selected. Befriending a girl whom he knows he could trust. Someone who is willing to help. The one whom he knows would never fall in love with him. But what happens she becomes the center of his attention? Will he choose to fight for the girl he knows is the one?

(smiles)

I’m a little bit overwhelmed by how I wrote my introduction. Its kind of rare for me to be in such a good mood for word play. But anyways. There are some reasons, which I will be stating later, why I rated this book 4 stars instead of 5.

Here are my pros and cons on why you should and should not read the book and the somewhere in between.

Book Review

  • The concept of the story is incredible. Imagine 35 young ladies, competing for the hand of the prince, all except for one is willing to be his bride. Cliché, yes. But what makes it unique is the competition itself. Most of the tales told regarding royalties is that either the prince has to marry a princess from another country or the other way around. But what happens here is that the prince has to choose among the ladies from his country who will become his bride. Something that I really found interesting.

  • I love the way the scenes were depicted especially those scenes in the garden where the two of them, America and Maxon, were alone. It gives me this serene feeling while I was reading. As if, I was in the garden itself gazing at the flowers and the forest at night. Or maybe that’s because I was listening to “Claire de Lune” by Claude Debussy when I was reading the scenes. Music gives more color to the scenes, so yeah, this part is pretty much appreciated. In fact, my favorite. (smiles)

The selection is one of those books almost everyone I know recommended. In fact, this book was given to me ages ago. But the thing is, I don’t have much time to read books, more especially novels. But is this book worth my wait?

Book Review

P.S. May contain spoilers. If you don’t want to be spoiled, don’t read this part.

  • The story was written in the first person point of view. America Singer, as the protagonist, narrates the whole story, giving us a hint of who definitely will be chosen in the end. It would have been better if the author gave us the chance to get to know all the other girls in the selection. What they think about the prince and how they think he sees them.

I gave my head a tiny shake and willed myself to focus. I gathered up my dress in my hands and walked toward Maxon. His eyes shifted from Celeste to me, and maybe I imagined it, but his face seemed to brightened a bit.

See? What if he was like that to every other girl in the room and she failed to notice? Yes, he is in love with her but what if he also fell in love with some of the other girls in the selection? Remember, he has to choose. It would have been more exciting if the book has an omniscient narrator rather than just the protagonist’s point of view. Just an opinion. (smiles)

Book Review

The last chapter dramatically changed the way I view the whole book. Since it’s still the first book of the five, it is expected to have this cliffhanger ending. But that is not the reason why I gave this book a 4 instead of a 3. I would have hated this book if the last chapter did not exist.

The last chapter of the book talks about the choice America has to make for herself. To leave and choose Aspen, her first love, the man of her dreams, or to continue and choose Maxon, the prince whom she never thought she would gradually fall in love with in the end.

SPOILER ALERT!

“No, I’m not choosing him or you. I’m choosing me.”

That was the truth at the core of everything. I don’t know what I wanted yet, and I couldn’t let myself be swayed by what was easy or what someone else thought was right. I had to give myself time to decide what was best for me.

This chapter settles down the things she left when she began to take part in the Selection and the things that are currently happening while it is still going on. It gives the readers that kind of assurance that whoever will she choose, it is the choice of her heart.

So, there you have it. My pros and cons on why you should and should not read the book and the somewhere in between.

Now, before I end my post, I will state one announcement that I am sure, The Selection fans are dying to know. The Selection is officially going to be a MOVIE!

Here is the link for Kiera Cass’ post, link.

It would have been better though if this becomes a TV show than a movie. (sighs). But anyways, I am looking forward to seeing you again once I’ve finished reading the second book of the series. (smiles).

6 thoughts on “Book Review: The Selection by Kiera Cass

  1. aentee @ read at midnight says:

    I feel like the only person in the blogosphere who hasn’t read this book, but I will let the movie hype get to me and read it for sure.

    I like the sound of the premise well enough, but I do dislike first person narration, so it’s a tough one. Thanks for your detailed review, though.

    I love your website by the way, you have pretty graphics!

    Like

Leave a Reply

