Book Recap: Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

15745753

book review 1

Two misfits.

One extraordinary love.

Eleanor… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor.

Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to the punch line. There’s a place on his chest, just below his throat, that makes her want to keep promises…Park.

Set over the course of one school year, this is the story of two star-crossed sixteen-year-olds—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try.

Book Review

★★★★★(5 stars)

book review 1

Imagine yourself in a place where everything sucks. A house that cannot be a home. A shower without a door. And a school where you can’t ever seem to fit in. This is what Eleanor was experiencing everyday since she transferred.

Park was in his own way different. He was Asian. He had a home. And he fits into the society where Eleanor didn’t. The boy who never ever imagined falling in love with the girl he desperately wanted to get away from.

Set in 1986, this story captures the era where comic books were practically famous and music was technically played in handy cassette players. Things that pretty much led the two together.

Personally, I never ever encountered a book better than Eleanor and Park (E&P as we call it). Even if I have read it just a year ago, it still gives me this kind of attachment to the story. The FEELS as we all know it. (laughs)

Okay, so here comes my own pros and cons on why you should and should not read this book.

Book Review

  • Good writing style. One of the things that I really do look after when I read a book is its good writing style. Rainbow Rowell wrote the story in a manner that by the time you read the first two sentences, BOOM, you can’t get enough of it. (laughs)

  • Super adorable characters. Eleanor & Park is a book written in two perspectives. One is for Park and the other is for Eleanor.

Eleanor

When she saw park standing on the bus stop on Monday morning, she started giggling. Seriously, giggling like a cartoon character… when their cheeks get all red, and little hearts go popping out of their ears…

It was ridiculous.

Park

When he saw Eleanor walking toward him on Monday morning, Park wanted to run to her and sweep her up in his arms. Like some guy in the soap operas his mom watched. He hung into his backpack and hold himself back…

It was kind of wonderful.

This book captures the theme of love in a sense that it is not too cheesy and not too boring. Dramatic yet colorful. It captures the way normal teenagers fall in love. The different viewpoints lets us understand how different characters think in different perspectives and how they behave despite the fact that the book is written in the third person’s point of view.

Book Review

P.S. May contain spoilers. If you don’t want to be spoiled, don’t read this part.

  • Most of my friends thought the first part was boring. Don’t get me wrong. I perfectly loved the whole book but this was the comment I really can’t get away with. The first part was written without any interaction between the two of them. Park having his own life and so as Eleanor. But somehow these parts were helpful in building the foundation of the story. It lets us understand the situations they are in like having one hell of a stepfather for Eleanor and a wholesome family for Park.
  • A cliffhanger ending. Personally, I loved the ending but for those who don’t want cliffhangers you may now as well leave. The ending is made in such a manner that the reader should guess what truly did happen after that postcard was sent or what words were written on it.

SPOILER ALERT!

Eleanor hadn’t written him a letter.

It was a postcard. ‘Greetings from the Land of 10,000 Lakes,’ it said on the front. Park turned it over and recognized her scratchy handwriting.

It filled his head with song lyrics.

He sat up. He smiled. Something heavy and winged took off from his chest.

Eleanor hadn’t written him a letter, it was a postcard.

Just three words long.

So there you have it. My pros and cons on why you should and should not read the book. Apparently, for those who are wondering if it was a struggle reading the book given that I am not even born in the year it was set (actually, I was born in 1994). Well, my answer is a big NO. I, myself is not a fan of Watchmen or X-men for a matter of fact nor familiar to some of the songs stated in the story. But it doesn’t matter. This is a story of two teenagers brave enough to fall in love. Definitely not something to miss.

7 thoughts on “Book Recap: Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

    • shinichimegumi123 says:

      Hahaha. Everyone is interested to know. 🙂 in fact, my friends and I have this little discussion on this matter. Some said it is “I love you”. Some said it is “I miss you” and some said it is “I’m Han Solo”. But I bet It is “nothing ends here” 🙂 Well, the possibilities are endless. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Ayunda says:

    I’m so ashamed to say that I haven’t read any Rainbow Rowell books! Do you recommend I start with this one? I feel like I’d like this the most. Great review, although I had to skip through the cons because I was afraid of reading the spoilers ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

